aboutsummarylogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/sys-kernel_arch-sources-g14_files-8021-mt76-mt7921-fix-the-inconsistent-state-between-bind-and-unbind.patch
blob: c1a9eabc6f0200fc0b3097a355002b4b383f80c5 (plain)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
From: <sean.wang@mediatek.com>
To: <nbd@nbd.name>, <lorenzo.bianconi@redhat.com>
CC: <sean.wang@mediatek.com>, <Soul.Huang@mediatek.com>,
 <YN.Chen@mediatek.com>, <Leon.Yen@mediatek.com>,
 <Eric-SY.Chang@mediatek.com>, <Deren.Wu@mediatek.com>, <km.lin@mediatek.com>,
 <robin.chiu@mediatek.com>, <ch.yeh@mediatek.com>, <posh.sun@mediatek.com>,
 <Eric.Liang@mediatek.com>, <Stella.Chang@mediatek.com>, <jemele@google.com>,
 <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: [PATCH] mt76: mt7921: fix the inconsistent state between bind and
 unbind
Date: Mon, 23 Aug 2021 10:26:51 +0800

From: Sean Wang <sean.wang@mediatek.com>

We shouldn't put back the device into fw own state after wifi reset at
driver unbind stage to fix the following error because that is not the
consistent state the current driver bind stage expects.

localhost ~ # echo 0000:01:00.0 > /sys/bus/pci/drivers/mt7921e/unbind
localhost ~ # echo 0000:01:00.0 > /sys/bus/pci/drivers/mt7921e/bind
...
[  481.172969] mt7921e 0000:01:00.0: ASIC revision: feed0000
[  482.133547] mt7921e: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -110
-bash: echo: write error: No such device

Fixes: c1af184ba830 ("mt76: mt7921: fix dma hang in rmmod")
Co-developed-by: YN Chen <YN.Chen@mediatek.com>
Signed-off-by: YN Chen <YN.Chen@mediatek.com>
Signed-off-by: Sean Wang <sean.wang@mediatek.com>
Tested-by: Chen-Yu Tsai <wenst@chromium.org>
---
 drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt7921/init.c | 1 -
 1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt7921/init.c b/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt7921/init.c
index 1f37e64b6038..3e84ef8f5358 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt7921/init.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/mediatek/mt76/mt7921/init.c
@@ -279,7 +279,6 @@ void mt7921_unregister_device(struct mt7921_dev *dev)
 	mt7921_mcu_drv_pmctrl(dev);
 	mt7921_dma_cleanup(dev);
 	mt7921_mcu_exit(dev);
-	mt7921_mcu_fw_pmctrl(dev);
 
 	tasklet_disable(&dev->irq_tasklet);
 	mt76_free_device(&dev->mt76);